Islands

Islands

Greg Bishop (CC / Flickr)

Islands haunt my sleep. Sometimes they come during the day, so I can’t be sure if I live on the island beneath my feet or the ones in my dreams, nor whether my dreams are memories. Perhaps I imagined them all, just as I imagined the laughter of the men I shipped with and the blast of the torpedo that took them from me. I like to think my friends found islands of their own, though I saw no others in the water. If I hadn’t been on the wing of the bridge, I’d never have lived to see another grain of dry land.

I try to conjure their faces, their voices, and place them on my dream islands. When all I see is more islands, I want to walk into the sea and join my friends.

I never do. When the water touches my feet, it washes away the siren song of memory with the animal fear of drowning.

That’s how I come to be sitting on this beach, waiting for the ship or the plane I don’t believe will ever come.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Saturday Hooptedoodle
2 comments on “Islands
  1. konabish says:

    Excellent pairing.

Leave a Reply

Follow Cockburn's Eclectics on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 454 other followers

Goodreads
Flickr
Lindisfarne Causeway

Goswick Sands

Fields of Green before Gold

Face Fly

Lumps of Rope

Delivering the Fish

Kittiwake Neighbours

Bamburgh Across the Sea

Brownsman Island Ruin

Inner Farne Islands

More Photos
