Springs and Bootblack

DACS; (c) DACS; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

Summer Lightning Walter Richard Sickert

She crosses the style every day when she finishes work in the kitchens. It’s the best place to catch a glimpse of her ankles. I’ve watched her as she goes with a smile and a twitch of her hips for my brother and not a look for me. She knows who will inherit. They all do.

She’ll notice me today.

I pull the mirror out of my fob and check the bootblack on my face. I’ve had to wait a week for a rainless day but now I’m wrapped in black and the springs are tight to my boots.

One click is all it takes and I come flying out from behind the tree, screeching like a banshee. I’ve practiced that scream for a week. I’ve practiced the cackle for the moment I land in front of her and advance with my teeth bared in my blackened face.

I should have practiced the leap. If I had, the cackle wouldn’t have turned into a yelp as the muddy slope sends my legs in different directions and my face into a puddle.

“Why Master William,” she says. “What on earth are you doing? Are you hurt?”

I’m still game. I leap to my feet, squawking through a mouthful of mud. That’s when I realise I’ve sprained my ankle and lurch down to one knee.

“Master William, I think I’d better call your father for help.”

“No!”

The word jerks out of me before I realise I’ve admitted I am not, in fact, the dreaded Spring-Heeled Jack.

I get to my feet, mustering as much dignity as I can with mud and bootblack running down my face.

“I shall walk.”

That’s when she turns, and we both see the spectre over her shoulder. He is dressed as a gentleman, but his coat and top hat are the same flour-white as his face.

I see the opportunity to reclaim a little dignity.

“You see,” I say, “my brother’s sense of humour is in no way superior to mine.”

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Saturday Hooptedoodle

Leave a Reply

Follow Cockburn's Eclectics on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

Goodreads
Flickr
Lindisfarne Causeway

Goswick Sands

Fields of Green before Gold

Face Fly

Lumps of Rope

Delivering the Fish

Kittiwake Neighbours

Bamburgh Across the Sea

Brownsman Island Ruin

Inner Farne Islands

More Photos
