The Salesman’s Umbrella

SalesmansUmbrella

Tani DeBoucher (CC / Flickr)

“I’m just on my way,” I said. “On the bus. With you in no time.”

No I wasn’t, I was striding the hotel lobby with my phone in one hand and a slice of toast in the other, hoping I wouldn’t be as late as I expected to be. I couldn’t even remember picking up my umbrella. I was focusing my attention on not sounding out of breath.

I half ran on to the street. It was raining so hard it was like walking into a cold shower, and there wasn’t a taxi in sight. Twenty minutes’ walk if I hurried.

I pressed the button to open the umbrella. A spike shot out of the top. I stopped for a moment, staring stupidly at it. I was keeping a client waiting. I took off again, nearly stabbing someone coming the other way. That was no good. I couldn’t make my pitch looking like a bedraggled Yorkshire terrier. I fiddled with the umbrella, hoping the canvas wasn’t purely for show. Umbrellas are awkward contraptions. Wouldn’t it be easier to convert an actual umbrella than disguise a murder weapon as one?

It snapped open. I wished I knew the name of the patron saint of itinerant salesmen so I could offer a prayer of thanks.

I wondered who it was that would be wanting their umbrella back.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow Cockburn's Eclectics on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 453 other followers

Goodreads
Flickr
Lindisfarne Causeway

Goswick Sands

Fields of Green before Gold

Face Fly

Lumps of Rope

Delivering the Fish

Kittiwake Neighbours

Bamburgh Across the Sea

Brownsman Island Ruin

Inner Farne Islands

More Photos
