Midday

Midday

Omer Ziv (CC / Flickr)

Silence presses down on her tiny room as though the damp is soaking sound from the air.

“Will you speak to me?” I try to keep my voice level.

My only answer is a church bell striking midday. A shaft of light sneaks round the curtain, shimmering motes of dust in the air.

The walls are closing in on me. I try to jerk the curtain open, but it’s nailed to the window frame.

“Can’t you bear to let any light in here?” I ask.

She waves a hand. I’m not sure if it’s an answer or a dismissal.

“We don’t have to wait for him,” I say. “We could just go. Now. Together.”

I don’t expect her to agree, but it might shock her into speaking if only to refuse. All I get is a minute shake of her head.

I bend down to pick up one of the shoes her husband’s return will fill. I want to throw it through the window. I put it back.

“Do you want me to go?” I ask.

“Yes,” she says.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Saturday Hooptedoodle

Leave a Reply

Follow Cockburn's Eclectics on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 444 other followers

Goodreads
Flickr
Alan Turing's Desk

Leading Crimewatch

Limestone Griffin

Guarding the Spooks

Bletchley Park Library

Most Secret Sources

Bakelite Days

Corvid Homebuilder

Torch Veteran

DSC_0633

More Photos
