The Hedonist

Hedonist

(Daniel Grosvenor [CC / Flickr])

If I answered the door with a scowl, blame it on the climate. By the time I got out of the jeepney, all I wanted was to get out of my sweaty clothes. I certainly didn’t want to talk to any of the hotel staff until I’d had a shower.

I opened the door not to the crisp-uniformed receptionist or cleaner I expected, but an obese, greybearded ‘cano. I didn’t know what to make of him, so my scowl stayed where it was as a placeholder.

“Can I ask what you’re doing here?”

He sounded as though an unsatisfactory answer would bring him back with a wooden board, a towel and a hosepipe. His accent identified him as a ‘cano far more literally than a Brit like me.

“I’m studying fish disease.”

I never learned to name my job without sounding apologetic. It sounded improbable even to me, though I couldn’t imagine anyone inventing it.

“Where?” he demanded.

“The fisheries lab by the harbour.”

His forehead furrowed. Whatever he’d expected to hear, he wasn’t hearing it. “Were you in Manila a few weeks ago? I thought I saw you in Rizal Park.”

I admitted to an afternoon in Rizal Park but if he’d been there, I hadn’t noticed him. His barked questions made me feel I was making a confession, which knocked down a row of emotional dominoes as far as the one marked ‘annoyed’. I didn’t owe this man an account of my movements. He was about two questions away from the domino marked ‘tell him his questions belong somewhere he probably can’t reach without losing a lot of weight’.

Before we got there, his shoulders slipped into a more relaxed stance.

“OK,” he said. “I was wondering if my company had sent you to watch me.”

I didn’t know what to say to that, but I’d passed his test. I mumbled at him more politely than I felt he deserved until he went away.

I didn’t know what to make of it until the following day, when I passed him on the stairs with a girl young enough to be his grand-daughter. She was dressed in makeup with a few threads of clothing thrown on as an afterthought.

I’d never noticed the hedonist before, but now he’d drawn my attention I often noticed him around the hotel with various girls who clung to his arm and looked anywhere but at his face. He would nod to me, man-to-man, acknowledging the month-long party his company was paying for.

I wished I’d thought to ask who he worked for.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Saturday Hooptedoodle

Leave a Reply

Follow Cockburn's Eclectics on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 454 other followers

Goodreads
Flickr
Lindisfarne Causeway

Goswick Sands

Fields of Green before Gold

Face Fly

Lumps of Rope

Delivering the Fish

Kittiwake Neighbours

Bamburgh Across the Sea

Brownsman Island Ruin

Inner Farne Islands

More Photos
