Listen

listen

(Kevin Baird [CC / Flickr])

I stand.

I look up.

I see a patchwork of speckles on the ceiling of my world.

Stars between branches.

The forest gobbles their morsels of light, sparing none for me.

Darkness engulfs me.

I listen.

I fill my world with the sound of myself. Leaves rustle beneath my feet as I sway with each breath.

I close my eyes. I see no less but I hear more.

A breeze rustles the top of the trees. A rustle might be a foraging fox or a stoat in a careless moment.

I place my right foot in front of my left. My left foot completes the pace.

I stop. Walking in circles will not help.

For a moment, I stain to sense the earth’s magnetic field. It refuses my touch.

I hold my breath and close my eyes again.

I hear it.

If it’s quiet, it’s because it’s muffled by the forest. The hunt is not furtive.

My legs quiver. My feet itch to be moving. I order them to be staunch.

I listen.

I do not allow myself to move until I am sure of which direction I can hear the hunt approaching from.

I turn my back to it.

I run.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Saturday Hooptedoodle

Leave a Reply

Follow Cockburn's Eclectics on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 444 other followers

Goodreads
Flickr
Bean Station Wagon

Hill Climber and Tomtit

Silver Wings and Silver Wheels

Bean in Red

Girl in a Red Hat

Starter and Startee

Fordson

Fiat 500

Jowett and Blackburn

Sugarwagon

More Photos
