Nothing is Sacred

nothingissacred

(Alex Watson [CC / Flickr])

“Nothing is sacred,” said the vicar.

Carys squinted at him. “That’s not what I expected you to say. It’s not very helpful either. I came to you for some spiritual guidance or something.”

The vicar spread his hands. “It is not as I would have it. I wish I could point to one thing and say, ‘This is sacred. This is absolute’. But if I were to do that, I would be deceiving you.”

“Right,” said Carys. “So you don’t want to deceive me. You reckon the truth is sacred.”

“Not exactly, no. I cannot hold the truth to be sacred when I do not know what it is. I do, however, aspire to honesty at all times, however frequently I fall short of my aspirations though confusion or ignorance.”

“I’m beginning to think you need guidance from me more than I need it from you,” said Carys.

“That is indeed a possibility.”

“All right then.” Carys rolled her eyes. “Let’s try this. Are you saying you’re saying honesty’s sacred? At least trying to tell the truth even if you’re not sure you can manage it?”

“You are correct, I do,” said the vicar. “But my holding it to be sacred does not make it so in any objective sense. I may simply be showing my ignorance once again.”

Carys sighed. “I miss the old vicar. He might have been less honest but he was a sight more helpful.”

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Saturday Hooptedoodle

Leave a Reply

Follow Cockburn's Eclectics on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 451 other followers

Goodreads
